PUNKNET 77 - Pop Group


The Pop Group was formed in Bristol 1977. The line-up was: Mark Stewart (vocals), Gareth Sager (guitar) and Bruce Smith (drums). Later Simon Underwood (bass) and Jon Waddington (guitar) joined the band. Shortly described The Pop Group was: poets, rhythms and politics. They made a D.I.Y. single (She Is) Beyond Good And Evil, which did get good reviews and band was signed to Radar Records. They made one Lp to Radar and two to Rough Trade before breaking up in 1981. After The Pop Group Simon Underwood played in Pigbag, Gareth Sager formed Rip Rig + Panic; and Mark Stewart started solo career.


(She Is) Beyond Good And Evil / ??? -79
** LP ** Y (Radar Records - RAD-20B) -79
Split single (with The Slits): Where There's A Will...( Rough Trade-RT039A) -80
** LP ** We Are Time (Rough Trade ROUGH-12) -80
** LP ** How Much Longer Do We Tolerate Mass Murder? (Rough Trade ROUGH-9) -80

Most important tracks on compilations:

Wanna Buy a Bridge?: We Are All Prostitutes (Rough Trade - ROUGH-US3) -80

Pop Group links:

Pop Group by Dixon
Pop Group Perfect Sound Forever
Pop Group - The Rought Guide to Rock
Pop Group - Trouser Press
Pop Group - All-Music Guide

[ Main | Company | Bands | Archives | FAQ | Mailorder | Cataloque | Coming |
Links | Friends | E-directory | Technical | News | Suomeksi | PunkNet77 | Demos ]

Created by JJu: June 6, 1997        We Are All Y

Last Updated: February 10, 1999